COVID-19: Osun State Gov. Orders Total Lockdown In Four Local Government Areas

174 0

Governor Gboyega Oyetola of Osun State has ordered a total lockdown in four local government areas in the state for one week. The lockdown will commence in Ilesa East, Ilesa West, Atakumosa East, and Atakumosa West on July 7th, Tuesday.

This is coming after the meeting with the state government and the stakeholders from the Local Government Area.

Governor Oyetola in his statement noted that if the compliance level is not encouraging, the government will announce a further extension.

The state government further stated that it is monitoring other Local Government Areas due to the increase in Coronavirus cases in the area.

The relaxation of lock-down has been extended by two weeks. The development was revealed in a statement released by the State Commissioner for Information and Civic Orientation, Mrs. Funke Egbemode.

Egbemode further stated that the decision to impose lock-down in the four local government areas was aimed at containing the spread of Coronavirus in the four local government areas.

She noted that there had been increase in recorded cases in the local government area.

The Commissioner noted that the decision would affect residents of the axis from attending worship centres and markets during the lock down.

Residents of the axis would be allowed to shop within their neighbourhoods, as there would be no vehicular movement within the affected areas.

Only those on essential duties such as health, fire service, environmental officials, security personnel, power and water supply agencies, media and telecommunication officers will be allowed to move.

Mrs. Egbemode also revealed that intra-state travel to and within the affected communities and to other parts of the State is banned during the period of the lockdown, warning that violators of the lockdown order will be severely dealt with.

As you are all aware, the Federal Government, a few days ago lifted the ban on interstate travel in the country. We have, therefore, lifted ours too. But our relaxation guidelines still subsist except for four local government areas, namely; Ilesa West, Ilesa East, Atakumosa West and Atakumosa East Local Government areas where we have now ordered a one-week lockdown, effective Tuesday, July 7.”

For the avoidance of doubt, our curfew will still run from 9.p.m to 5.a.m daily in other parts of the State, except the locked down LGAs.”

To this end, we urge citizens and residents of the affected communities to take advantage of the hours between now and Monday to stock up provisions that will last them one week in the first instance.”

We have mandated and mobilised the state’s task force and security operatives to strictly enforce the measures.

“The decision to shut down a part of the state, though painful, is the only way to go if it must arrest the further spread of the virus in the state,” she added.

Teller Africa

Promoting African Content Online

Related Post

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *