Gov Samuel Ortom To Chair The PDP Southwest Zonal Congress Today

35 0

Samuel Ortom, Governor of Benue State, has been appointed by the Peoples Democratic Party to chair its Southwest zonal congress in Osogbo, Osun State today.

The was shifted from Oyo State to Osogbo, the Osun state capital will be holding at the Women and Children Development Initiative Foundation (WOCDIF).

A total of 743 delegates approved by the National Working Committee (NWC) of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) will today in Osogbo elect the party’s South-west zonal leaders.

According to a statement containing the delegate list signed by the National Organising Secretary of the party, Col Austin Akobundu (rtd), Oyo State has a total of 171 delegates, while Ogun State has 114; Osun State, 130; Ekiti State, 115; and Lagos State, 101.

PDP disclosed that a former deputy governor of Oyo State, Taofeek Arapaja, and the immediate zonal chairman of the party, Dr Eddy Olafeso, would contest the chairmanship position.

Chief Rahman Owokoniran and Jenyo Bunmi were also cleared to contest the position of the zonal secretary.

Others are, Ogunye Omotoyosi and Oke Michael (Treasurer); Amuwa Adegbenro and Bakenne Adewale (Zonal Organising Secretary); and Olusanya Adefarati and Fadaka Ayodele (Zonal Publicity Secretary).

The party also cleared Messrs Adewoyin Babatunde and Aivoji Olabode for the position of zonal financial secretary while Messrs Babatunde Samuel and Monsuru Kukoyi would contest the position of the zonal legal adviser.

Three members, Messrs Dominic Adegbola, Balogun Ayuba and Adeola Adewunmi were cleared to contest the zonal auditor’s position while Modinat Adedibu and Abimbola Lanre-Balogun would contest as the zonal women leader.

The PDP cleared Bamidele Abiola and Adetola Femi to contest the zonal youth leader’s position.

The party also cleared two ex-officio members from each of the six states in the South-West zone.


Teller Africa

Promoting African Content Online

Related Post

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *